Awards Dinner


Each fall, The Buffalo History Museum hosts The Red Jacket Awards Dinner, recognizing individuals and organizations for their contributions to our community.

Members of The Buffalo History Museum may nominate candidates for the Red Jacket, Daniel B. Niederlander and Owen B. Augspurger Awards.

2018 Nomination Schedule

February 13: Nominations are accepted online
March 9: Nominations close at 11:59 p.m.
Winners notified in April

Date for the Red Jacket Awards Dinner announced by May 1, 2018 


Established in 1957, The Red Jacket Award is presented each year in recognition of quiet, continued, unbroken devotion to our civic progress and needs by one who, through such devotion, has thereby enlarge our awareness of our heritage in order that it may be built upon for the enrichment of our future.

The tradition of the History Museum’s Red Jacket Award is inspired by the imperative to continue acknowledging those who, with steady service, strive to support the connections in our region.  

Click here for a list of previous Red Jacket Award recipients
Click here to nominate a candidate for the Red Jacket Award  


rj_4 sz.jpg

The Daniel B. Niederlander Award, established in 1975, is named for a former President of the Buffalo History Museum. Mr. Niederlander (1895-1964) had a keen interest in history, witnessed by his restoration and operation of the Williamsville Water Mill. He was also active in the drive to save the 1833 Buffalo lighthouse. This award recognizes a local heritage organization for outstanding programming.
Nominate here:
Niederlander Award Criteria & Recipient List


Established in 1974, the Augspurger Award honors the quiet and unassuming Owen B. Augspurger (1913-1969); an attorney, Councilmember, dedicated civic leader and former Buffalo History Museum Board President. This award is given to an individual for outstanding service to the cause of local history reflecting the passion exhibited by Mr. Augspurger. 
Nominate here:
Owen B Augspurger Award Criteria Recipient List 

If interested in becoming a corporate sponsor or nominating an individual for the Red Jacket Award, Niederlander Award or Augpurger Award, please contact Alexis Greinert, Development Coordinator  at 873-9644 x318 or to receive further details and or a copy of the nomination forms regarding the awards. 

The date of the Red Jacket Awards Dinner: Thursday, October 5, 2017 

6 p.m.  Cocktails and hors d'oeuvres

7 p.m.  Dinner & Awards Ceremony

Purchase tickets here: 


The Red Jacket Award
Eva Doyle

The Owen B. Augspurger Award
Dennis Galucki

The Daniel B. Niederlander Award
Hispanic Heritage Council of Western New York 

Tickets & Pricing
$150 per person
$275 per couple
$500 Patron Ticket (includes two tickets and listing in event program)

Table of 8: $1,100
Table of 10: $1,375

Sponsor support generously donated by: Richard and Karen Penfold,   Hodgson Russ LLP, and M&T Bank 

Thank you for your time and thoughtfulness.